Review: Night Shift (Night Tales, No. 1)

Night Shift
Night Shift by Nora Roberts
Genre: Romance – Suspense, Series
Received: Used copy (omnibus edition), have owned for years
Read: June 23, 2013
Reviewed: July 5, 2013
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Short synopsis: A deejay, Cilla O’Roarke, in Denver starts getting calls from some creepazoid whose threats intensify with every phone call. The police enter the scene, one of which is Boyd Fletcher, who immediately falls for Cilla. So begins the romance.

Written for Silhouette’s Intimate Moments line, Night Shift is an early Nora Roberts’ romance and the first in the Night Tales series. While I didn’t expect to be blown away by the story, I was hoping to be passably entertained. Unfortunately, those hopes were dashed fairly early on. I got a little taste of what was to come in the second paragraph of the first page:

“Her voice was like hot whiskey, smooth and potent. Rich, throaty, touched with the barest whisper of the South, it might have been fashioned for the airwaves. Any man in Denver who was tuned in to her frequency would believe she was speaking only to him.”

Commence internal groaning and eye-rolling. So yeah, that didn’t bode well. Still, I surged on, believing that Nora Roberts could make something out of the formulaic plot. Again, I was disappointed. If the focus had been more on the suspense part and less on the “romance,” it could have been an okay read. Instead I had to suffer through Cilla’s lame hang-ups and excuses for why she can’t be in a relationship. All of which could be remedied if she’d just take the time to see a therapist. The only thing that bothered me more was her utter stupidity. She continually left out much-needed information that could help the cops figure out who was behind the threats to her life. Instead, her constant excuses were, “I didn’t think of it” or “I didn’t think it was important” or other such bullcrap that made me want to slap her silly (if she wasn’t already that way). Boyd wasn’t bad but he didn’t really make a lasting impression either. From the physical description, it sounds like he might have been molded after Clint Eastwood in an homage to Play Misty for Me, but maybe I’m seeing things that aren’t there.

Needless to say, the romance wasn’t very interesting and bored me more often than not. Boyd pursues and Cilla wiffle-waffles throughout the whole book. She’s healed after one night in Boyd’s bed and then remembers her “reasons” for not getting serious. He’s in love with her after one day (I exaggerate, but only slightly), when they hadn’t even had very many conversations to get to know each other, which I suppose isn’t very important if, I don’t know, you want to spend the rest of your lives together. Not to mention, I never got the impression that Cilla was ever in love with him, even at the end. So much tell and no show. The only thing of note were two secondary characters, Althea Grayson and Natalie Fletcher, partner and sister of Boyd, respectively. I’m hoping, if I decide to read them, that their books will be better. Otherwise, this is wholly forgettable and makes me wish for my time back.

10 thoughts on “Review: Night Shift (Night Tales, No. 1)

  1. I will say this about Nora Roberts (whom I like as a writer for the most part), she has a thing about whiskey. She’s either describing a character’s eyes or voice using whiskey as an adjective. One question, or maybe an observation: What’s going on with this sentence? “The police are brought in and commence romance with tall, blonde cop, Boyd Fletcher.” Did you miss putting a “she” and an “a” in there, as in “The police are brought in and she commences a romance with tall, blonde cop, Boyd Fletcher.”? Sorry if I’m being a bitch, but I read that sentence about three times and thought that maybe I was finally having that brain aneurism I have nightmares about. ;P Otherwise, it’s a nice review–short and to the point. πŸ™‚

    • I haven’t read a Roberts’ book for years, so hadn’t picked up on her whiskey fixation. πŸ˜› No, I didn’t, I was attempting to go with one of my typical fragmented sentences. I obviously didn’t accomplish what I set out to do, but I have an idea of how to fix it. You’ll have to let me know if I succeed this time. πŸ™‚ And really, out of the all the wacky sentences people construct, mine is the one that gets associated with a brain aneurism? It’s not that hard to figure out. πŸ˜€ Thanks. πŸ™‚

      ________________________________

      • LOL I was just reading my status updates for this and I’d forgotten some of it. I especially like the necessary jelly bean info. Here’s a link in case you’re interested. Note, you’re obviously not required to read these, but you get to see an adorable Fuzzy gif if you do. πŸ˜‰

      • I think it’s a wish-fulfillment thing. After all, she has light brown eyes and maybe she hopes that people think they’re “whiskey colored.” Or perhaps her husband calls them that. Who knows? πŸ˜› Hey, what do I know? Maybe it was just my fragmented brain that was the problem! Whatever the case, yes, I like the changes you made. πŸ˜‰ At this point, it doesn’t take much to confuse me. Hell, I think a slightly more complicated “Dick and Jane” book would trigger that aneurism. :/

        Looked at your updates and the jelly bean thing was hilarious. This was an early Nora Roberts, so I guess you’ve gotta cut her a little bit of slack. Maybe the color of a jelly bean was the source of a major crisis in her life. πŸ˜€ Oh, and you had to use gifs one right after the other, so that a Jensen eye-roll shows up right above Fuzz’s yawn–talk about Cute Overload! ;D I wish Ramses would give me something I could turn into a gif. Booger. πŸ˜›

      • Who knows, indeed. πŸ˜› Yay, it makes sense now. *claps all goofily* πŸ˜‰ Snikies! Now I’m second-guessing that Dick and Jane book set I was planning on getting you for Christmas. LOL πŸ˜€

        I know, right? I honestly expected a third reference to a green or orange jelly bean. I was sorta disappointed when it didn’t show up. Yeah, and part of the Silhouette line, therefore more rules. :/ Guess I should have warned you, but where’d the fun be in that? I totes plan on using that whenever a book gets to be a snoozefest. It’s been boring a hole in my computer for the right moment to unleash Fuzzalicious cuteness on the book world. He will conquer the internet, he will! Mwahahahaha!! *clears throat and looks sheepishly around* πŸ˜‰ Anyway, don’t know if you remember that video but he “rows” while yawning too, which is a classic Fuzz move; he does it all the time. He so silly. πŸ˜€

        ________________________________

      • Okay, I so totally saw you “clapping all goofily” after I read that. In fact, I can see you now… *snerkle* πŸ˜€ Well, shucks. Maybe you could go with a Fuzzy Bunny book for me, that way I could pet it and stroke it and hug it and name it George. LOL

        Maybe her editor figured that the world just couldn’t take another jelly bean reference. Either that, or the suspense of trying to figure out which color she’d pick out next would keep the reader going. πŸ˜€ Oh, no need to be sheepish, he will definitely conquer the internet. Just make sure to spread that gif around and soon Fuzz will be the next Big Thing. πŸ˜‰ Yeah, I think I vaguely remember seeing him do that. I wish I could get some video of Ramses doing his signature moves (stop, flop, and roll is one, and a twist-tuck of his head in an “Aren’t I adorable?” pose while he’s curled up). I tell you, I’d love to get a smart phone so I could carry it around and have a camera at hand to catch him unawares. πŸ˜›

      • Not quite sure what that says about me. o_o Snerkle, huh? I’ll have to remember that. πŸ˜€ I was actually leaning towards Sleepy Kittens, but Fuzzy Bunny would work. I wouldn’t want you to not have George. LOL

        That sounds feasible. ;P Yeah, screw Maru and Grumpy Cat and whatever other lame-o cats are out there. πŸ˜€ Of course, after he became a hit, I’d have to film and photograph him more, get him an agent, write a book, illustrate said book, go on tour,οΏ½ etc. That’s just too much work. 😯 Maybe it’d be for the best if he’s a minor cat celebrity (celebrcaty?). Ha! Lily flops and rolls around a lot too, all the while talking up a storm. He’d probably still foil you, that’s just what cats do. Everytime one of the kitties does something adorable, the damn camera is in the other room. Ugglebuggle.

      • I think it probably says more about me and my weird imagination. o_O Yeah, it just came to me. I figured it was about time, since you’re the one who always comes up with the cute words. πŸ˜€ I think I actually have a copy of Sleepy Kitty; it was my mother’s or brother’s, I can’t remember which. But Fuzzy Bunny is definitely more suited for George moments. LOL

        That’s right! Fuzz kicks their lame-o butts! πŸ˜‰ True, but you could always delegate; after all, once he’s a hit, all that endorsement money will start flowing in, allowing you to hire a flunky. πŸ˜€ (Celebricaty? See, there you go again, making up cute words! Maybe it should be celebricatty, though–ooh, or how about celebrikitty? What d’you think?) Sadly, Ramses doesn’t talk while he’s flopping, but since he talks up a storm the rest of the time, I think it evens out. LOL Yeah, but at least I’d have more opportunities to foil his attempts to foil me, so that perhaps I’d at least get one good photo or video every once in a while. Because I have the same problem–the camera is always in the other room and even if he’s caught up in doing something, by the time I run and get the camera, power it up and get it focused on him, he’s giving me that look that says, “You’re trying to take a photo of me, aren’t you? Well, I’ll fix your wagon!” πŸ˜›

      • True. πŸ˜‰ Yeah, you need to pull your word-creating weight more, ya slacker! LMAO Really, are you sure you’ve got the right book? I’m talking about the Sleepy Kittens book from Despicable Me with the kitty finger puppets. Cuz I don’t know why your brother would have a book that came out in 2010. LOL

        Yes he does! πŸ˜€ You’ve got a point. Ooh, I like celebrikitty. I like to think if my brain had been working when I wrote last that I would have come up with that, but I’m probably fooling myself. πŸ˜› What is it with talky cats? Everyone (who doesn’t have/know cats) says they’re quiet and ignore people and all that crap, but I’d say a good 90%, possibly more, of the cats who have come through here talk too damn much. LOL Well, as long as you foil him attempting to foil you, then it’s all good. ;P Cats can be so darned irritating like that. *rolls eyes*

        ________________________________

      • Hey, I try! I just happen to really suck at creating new words. 😦 Holy moly, I’d forgotten that that was the book from Despicable Me–it’s been a while since I’ve watched it. But I swear I’m not delusional. There’s an old picture book, one of those Golden Books, that’s called Sleepy Kitty. I can see the cute little kitty on its cover. Or maybe it’s Sleepy Puppy… Oy. I tell you, it’s not pretty inside my head, which is why I’m out of it most of the time. LOL

        Eh, I’ll play along with your delusion and agree that you would’ve thought up ‘celebrikitty’, given enough time. ;D I don’t know, maybe the idea of a quiet cat falls into the whole misconception about cats in general. And since cats do tend to get quiet around strangers (for the most part), visitors don’t get to experience the full… volume and capacity of a talking cat. πŸ˜€ I still need a smartphone, or even an iPod with a camera, in order to try to foil his foiling, so for now, I’ll just keep running for the camera and cursing when I’m too late and all I get is a snarky “Ha, ha, too late!” expression. ;P It’s what they’re good at–I think they have a gene for it. LOL

Leave a Reply

