Review: Children of the Night by Mercedes Lackey

Children of the Night (Diana Tregarde, #2)Children of the Night by Mercedes Lackey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this book rather like I enjoy B-flicks: entertaining, a little bit cheesy, and somewhat unremarkable in the end. Diana ran the gamut for me, she wasn’t the strong woman I had the idea she’d be, although I wouldn’t categorize her as weak exactly. Unfortunately, it seemed to me that she spent an awful amount of time on either feeling sorry for herself or weeping, sometimes both. Good lord woman! Get it together! I didn’t mind it some much earlier on because I thought she would grow by the last page, but it stayed pretty even throughout.

The book takes place in the seventies, around the Watergate scandal, so there are some major differences in speech and how people act. I get the feeling that even though it wasn’t published until 1990, it might have been written in the seventies. Maybe it wasn’t and I’m wrong, but the book sure feels that way. Anyway, I liked some of the ideas, especially the gaki (although stop calling him the “Oriental!” Gah!!) and dealing with psi-vampires, but I thought they could have been explored in further detail. Instead the book features some odd and goofy exchanges between Diana and Andre, one of which deals with her anxiety attacks in a truly hurried and unrealistic way. I don’t believe in the matter of a few hours they could just disappear like that, it just doesn’t ring true. Almost half the book deals with another character’s side of things, Dave, and while I could have used a trim on his view (he too had a lot of self-pity), surprisingly he turned out to have grown more by the end than Diana did. What really got my goat was the phrase “Christ on a crutch” and “gods” used to the nth degree. At a certain point if I heard one of those one more time, I swear I would have thrown the book across the room. Ugh!

Overall, while it wasn’t the best book I read, it kept me reading and I didn’t hate it. While I felt the short story I read in Trio of Sorcery (Diana Tregarde, #0.5) was stronger, I’d still give the next book Burning Water a go.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

